CBR World Finals Qualifiers Announced

 CBR World Finals Qualifiers Announced


WEATHERFORD, Texas – (May 9, 2017) - The Championship Bull Riding Road to Cheyenne and Horizon Series are paved with genuine and dramatic sports moments for the hundreds of cowboys that travel the path of the Real Cowboy Sport.  The ultimate triumph of wills – the cowboy vs the bull - has been thrilling audiences since July and after eight months, sixteen regular season events that paid out over half a million dollars in prize packages to riders, CBR announced the 24 bull riders who will compete at the Road to Cheyenne CBR World Finals held in Cheyenne, Wyoming at Cheyenne Frontier Days, July 24-25 for total prize monies and prize packages worth over $200,00.

 More than 500 bull riders from the United States, Brazil, Canada, Australia, and Mexico hold CBR memberships. These professional cowboys compete in more than 50 events per year on both the Road to Cheyenne tour, and the qualifying Horizon Series. The ultimate goal for CBR athletes each year is to qualify for the prestigious CBR World Finals in Cheyenne, Wyoming where the coveted title of CBR World Champion is decided.

 These cowboy athletes have been competing since July 29, in pursuit of the gold buckle and trophy which will carry the winner’s name for eternity. They have been on the road from Huron, South Dakota to Jackson, Tennessee, forging thru flash floods, muddy arenas, snow, ice, flight cancellations and vast changes in the climate from week to week to bring you the 2017 Championship Bull Riding Season.

In 2016-17, thousands of fans attended CBR events across the nation with its multi-tiered event structure. These action-packed adrenaline rush performances keep fans on the edge of their seats and have earned Championship Bull Riding the reputation of providing world-class entertainment.

Under the production leadership of four time World Champion bull rider and Pro Rodeo Hall of Famer Tuff Hedeman, the CBR continues to provide good stock, good money and insurance for the cowboys choosing to compete on the booming bull riding series where Made in America values capture the excitement, the danger, and the thrill of competition.

The 2016-17 CBR World Standings is filled with perennial title contenders and red hot rookies, and this year's race for the gold buckle did not disappoint.  

The sixteen regular season Road to Cheyenne events were won by twelve different cowboys. Three cowboys won multiple events. Reigning World Champion Sage Kimzey won three event titles. Rookies Jeff Askey and Boudreaux Campbell won two titles during their first year of CBR competition. Number two ranked Eli Vastbinder may have only won one event, but he rode 29 of the 37 bulls he attempted to keep pace with Kimzey and find himself within striking distance of the bull rider who has banked over $2 million dollars riding bucking bulls.

Wrangler National Finals Rodeo qualifiers Joe Frost, Trey Benton, and Chandler Bownds each won one tour stop as did Taryl Smith, Tyler Taylor, Caleb Sanderson, and Travis Briscoe.

The season ended on April 29 in Del Rio, Texas, and the top 24 riders on the CBR Road to Cheyenne Tour point standings have been confirmed based on points earned on the premier CBR tour. The rider who wins the most points throughout the CBR Road to Cheyenne Tour season, including the World Finals, is crowned the CBR World Champion and the following riders will be competing for two days and five rounds of captivating and adrenaline pumping competition on July 24-25 in Cheyenne, Wyoming.

For tickets to the CBR World Finals at Cheyenne Frontier Days go to Follow the CBR rock stars as we highlight the competitors, both rider and bovine, on; follow us on Instagram, Snapchat, and Twitter @CBRBULL.

 2017 CBR World Finals Qualifiers as of May 9, 2017

Rank     Contestant                      Hometown                      8 Second Tour/World Points 

1            Sage Kimzey                  Strong City, OK             2385

2            Eli Vastbinder                  Statesville, NC              2118.5

3            Boudreaux Campbell      Crockett, TX                  1584

4            Jeff Askey                        Athens, TX                    893

5            Tyler Taylor                     Stephenville, TX            882

6            Cody Jesus                      Sawmill, AZ                   802

7            Caleb Sanderson             Kissimmee, FL               795.5

8            Koby Radley                   Montpelier, LA              704.5

9            Cody Rostockyj               Lorena, TX                    698

10          Denton Fugate                 Dixon, MO                    692.5

11          Joe Frost                          Randlett, UT                  621

12          Corey Bailey                   Paris, TN                       606.5

13          Jeffrey Ramagos             Zachary, LA                   598.5

14          Josh Frost                        Randlett, UT                  583

15          Corey Atwell                   Moravian, Falls, NC      532.5

16          Colton Jesse                    Konawa, OK                  530

17          Juan Alonzo                    Weslaco, TX                   451

18          Bayle Warden                 Athens, TX                      443.5

19          Trey Benton                    Huntsville, TX                443.5

20          Lane Toon                       Lane, OK                        440.5

21          Demond Haynes             Houston, TX                    438.5

22          Dustin Bouqet                 Bourg, LA                       436.5

23          Travis Briscoe                 Edgewater, NM               435.5

24          Tyler Bingham                Honeyville, UT                351

CBR World Champions

 ·      2016 Sage Steele Kimzey, Strong City, OK

•     2015 Cody Teel, Kountze, TX

•     2014 Sage Steele Kimzey, Strong City, OK

•     2013 Cole Echols, Frierson, LA

•     2012 Josh Barentine, Johnson’s Bayou, LA

•     2011 Clayton Foltyn, Winnie, TX

•     2010 Luke Kelley, Mt. Vernon, IL

•     2009 Hugo Pedrero, Mexico

•     2008 Clayton Baethge, Johnson City, TX

•     2007 Bonner Bolton, Odessa, TX

•     2006 Matt Austin, Wills Point, TX

•     2005 Matt Austin, Wills Point, TX

•     2004 Austin Meier, Kinta, OK

•     2003 Ross Johnson, Alvarado, TX

•     2002 Mike White, DeKalb, TX