Hatchel Heats up Houma

If you have never been to South Louisiana you should, if you have never been to Houma you must, and if you have ever been to one of James Pierce’s 8 Seconds to Glory bull ridings you are guaranteed an authentic Cajun experience benefiting a great cause, the Cancer Center of Thibodaux Regional.   

Following Louisiana’s slogan, “Laissez bon temp rouler,” or let the good times roll... the 8 Seconds to Glory Houma edition got underway featuring a two round bull riding, the always funny Rockin’ Robbie Hodges in the barrel and at the kickoff party, and a bull team competition featuring some of the top bulls in the CBR as well as some up and coming rookie riders and bulls.

After 11 total qualified rides from 34 bull riders, 18 year old Nathan Hatchel of Hennessey, Okla., was declared the champion in front of an explosive Houma Civic Center crowd on a Louisiana Saturday night.

Balancing between flanking his bulls on the back of the chutes and pulling his rope on the inside, Lucas Guilbeau won the long round with 87 points on 125 Spanky of Mike Rawson’s who Wyatt Rogers rode for 88.5 points and a second place finish in the Bucking on the Rio Grande premier tour event in Rio Rancho, New Mexico last month.

Second was top ten CBR ranked rider, Corey Bailey with 84.5 followed by De’Arion Loud’s 83.75, Derek Koch’s 83.25, with Koby Radley and Nathan Hatchel, both posting 83 points.

Hatchel was matched up with 2015 CBR Bull of the Year, CR Corpus Red for the finals and won the round with 89 points which earned him the event his first CBR Championship with a 172 average score on two bulls. He was 83 points and placed fifth in the long round, but came back strong in the final round to edge out Louisiana cowboy Koby Radley by .5 points.     

Following the success of his peers, it is not an accident Oklahoma’s newest bull riding hopeful found success in the heart of the CBR’s Horizon Series. Being from Oklahoma means Hatchel has big shoes to fill on the CBR’s Horizon and Road to Cheyenne bull riding tours.

He started his career in Oklahoma’s Jr. and High School associations in the same era as event champion Wyatt Rogers, CBR World Finals Average Champion Brennon Eldred, and World Champion Sage Kimzey.

After a fourth place finish at the 2014 National High School Finals he accepted an offer from a school known for producing bull riding greats, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, where he currently shares bull riding duties with 2016 CBR El Paso Champion Mickey Andrews.

“Nathan’s the kind of rider that thrives on a big stage and does well under pressure, I watched him ride his best at the Nationals each year in the high school associations,” said fellow intercollegiate and CBR Road to Cheyenne tour rider, Wyatt Rogers.

“We’re really proud to have Nathan on board. He’s an accomplished bull rider and will have a positive impact on our team,” said Vinieski, his rodeo coach upon signing Hatchel last year. SWOSU’s men’s rodeo program ranks second of 15 in the state. The team has placed first in the national championships four times in the last 30 years.

Taking a page out of Sage Kimzey’s road to success outline, Hatchel earned three letters in basketball at Hennessey High School while leading his team to the Class 2A OSSAA basketball tournament twice, a road also traveled by Sage Kimzey at Oklahoma’s Cheyenne High School.

CBR Horizon Series Standings

Koby Radley’s strong second place finish moved him ahead of his brother-in-law, Jacob O’Mara, by 166 points (or two bull rides) in the CBR Horizon Series Standings. O’Mara who had trouble in the chutes, turned out both of his bulls in Houma. Rookie rider and winner of two events on the Horizon Series, JT Moore is in third place with 888 points, but De’Arion Loud is on his heels with 851. Denton Fugate rounds out the top 5 with 834.50 points. The CBR Horizon Series has seven events left on the schedule before one rider will be awarded the $20,000 check at the CBR World Finals Gala held the night before the World Finals at Cheyenne Frontier Days.


8 Seconds to Glory Results

1, Nathan Hatchel, 172 total, $1,745.28. 2 Koby Radley 171.5, $1,260.48. 3, Lucas Guilbeau, 87, $775.68. 4, J.T. Moore, 85.5, $533.28. 5, Corey Bailey 84, 75. $339.36. 6, De’Arion Loud, 83.75, $193.92.


Bull Team Results

1. J.C. Knapp, $8,000

2. William Barnett, $6,000

3. Mike Rawson, $4,000

4. Rawson/Harris, $2,000