Rostockyj Rides Three to Retain the No. 1 Position on the Road to Cheyenne

Cody Rostockyj pitched a perfect game on Saturday night to earn his second event title and remain the undisputed No. 1 bull rider on the CBR’s nationwide televised tour, the Road to Cheyenne.

Rostockyj electrified the capacity plus crowd riding three bulls to win the three round tournament style format of the twenty-seventh edition of the Bud Light Classic Presented by Alan Vines Automotive at the Oman Arena in Jackson, Tennessee.

“You come here on top and you want to ride all three to try and stay there, you know with the level of competitors they are going to ride good and you just have to ride well to stay with them,” said the newly crowned champ of what the bull riders refer to as one of the toughest events on the CBR regular season tour.

With 15 qualified rides in round one, Neil Holmes took the lead in the first section with 89 points on Jeff Harris’s 8 Ole School. Newt Brasfield and CBR World Finals Average winner Brennon Eldred were right behind him with 89 and 88.5 points. Rostockyj tied for fourth in the round on a bull he drew for the first time, Ray Cattle Company’s P020, The Whistle.

“I didn’t nod for the bull because the bull was a little restless in the chute, but the gate opened and I just said… here we go,” Rostockyj as he described his first round draw.

World Champions Cody Teel and Sage Kimzey lived up to their star billing and progressed on 88 and 86 points as did one rookie, Koby Radley, in the pack of highly decorated bull riders including the comeback kid, Trey Benton.

Rostockyj watched patiently as the field of 29 narrowed to 12. Wyatt Rogers’s 85.5 would be the lowest score to advance, leaving two veterans, Eli Vastbinder and Craig Jackson, with rookie Koby Radley from Montpielier, La., on the sidelines.

With the CBR Bull Team Challenge bull power increasing the power for the second round, only six riders heard the eight second whistle with CBR World Finals average winner and NFR qualifier Brennon Eldred teaming up with the reigning CBR Bucking Bull of the Year, Gold Buckle, for 90.5 points. Rogers struck first and was the first rider to get two ridden for an average of 172.5.   

Teel answered with an 88.5 on Mike Rawson’s White Wolf. Rostockyj powered on with 87.5 on 520 Green Machine, but it was a tense moment for Chandler Bownds as he barely survived the clock for his 89 points on 911 Bargain Bin. Kimzey was 86 on Grey Goose which would not be enough points towards his average to qualify him for the final four shoot out worth $34,750.   

Teel would be the first out and was e 88.5 points after his first bull, TNT Foreplay fouled while leaving the chute. Bownds and Eldred would be quickly overpowered leaving only the No. 1 to knock the reigning World Champion Cody Teel from his lead.

When Cody Rostockyj arrived in Jackson on Thursday he made friends fast signing autographs, chatting almost hourly with WYN Radio, and being featured daily on the WBBJ TV news which came in handy when those 5,000 new friends were on their feet cheering him on to ride his last bull.

With fearless effort and determination he outlasted his good friend, Outside the Box, and earned a 92.5 to earn the largest check this season and remain the No. 1 ranked rider in the CBR. It was a rematch for Rostockyj who rode Jimmy Jayne’s great bucker, Outside the Box, in Laughlin to win his first CBR event title last September.

“The bull bucked a lot harder tonight than he did in Laughlin and I had to hustle the entire ride,” said Rostockyj after signing autographs for over an hour on the floor of the Oman arena.  

The win keeps Rostockyj at the top of the World Standings with 970.5 points. Kimzey remains the number two cowboy with 705.5 and Cody Teel moved up several notches to secure the No. 3 position with 526.5 points.

In addition to the lucrative prize money, bull riders accumulate points which qualify them for the World Finals, part of the legendary Cheyenne Frontier Days celebration held in Wyoming next July. At the end of the World Finals the contestant who has the most points will be crowned the CBR World Champion and receive a $100,000 bonus.

The Jackson event also featured the “other side of the ride,” CBR’s Million Dollar Bull Team Challenge. Bull owners from all around the country including NFL super star, Jared Allen’s trio of buckers.

At the end of the night Mike Rawson topped the charts with his tried and true performing bull team of Little Shyster, Too Juicy and White Wolf. The Martinsville, Texas team racked up 285 points, finishing just one point ahead of the Okeechobee Bull Co/Jeff Harris’s team which featured the rankest bull of the night, 911 Bargain Bin. Rawson, the reigning World Champion bull team owner and the 2016 Stock Contractor of the year had this to say about the night.

“I was proud of the way the bulls performed tonight, and with all the new great bulls on the roster and the other bull team owner’s great stock, the competition is tough and I am proud to get the win.” 

The CBR Road to Cheyenne continues on January 23 in Hobbs, New Mexico at the Tuff Hedeman Championship Bull Riding at the Lea County Event Center. Tickets are available and can be purchased on or call 806.770.2000.


Shoot Out Round Results

1, Cody Rostocky, Lorena, Texas, 92.5 points on J908 Outside the Box, $22,587.50. 2, Cody Teel, Kountze, Texas 88.5 on TNF Foreplay, $12,162.50.

Round by Round scoring available on


Bull Team Results

1, Mike Rawson, Martinsville, Texas, 285 points, $20,000. 2, Okeechobee and Harris, 284, $12,000. 3. Championship Pro Rodeo/K&G, 283.06, $8,000. 4, 3J Bucking Bulls, 281.23, $5,000.                                          


For more information, contact Leigh Ann Schroeder at or 940.902.1112 or