CBR Cowboys Headed for the Super Series Finale at Rodeo Houston

As we pause for one weekend on the Mahindra Road to Cheyenne Tour, CBR cowboys are circling Houston airports daily for a chance at big bucks available to contestants entered in RodeoHouston.

This international, invitation-only (non-sanctioned) rodeo has a purse totaling $1,690,000. Some of the world's best cowboys and cowgirls compete in five three-day series, giving the 2.8 million RodeoHouston fans an opportunity to track their favorite athletes all the way to the BP Super Series Championship. The action is never-ending, with bareback riding, barrel racing, bull riding, saddle bronc riding, steer wrestling, team roping and tie-down roping. The entire purse is provided by RodeoHouston, with no entry fees required from the contestants.

This year an unprecedented 18 CBR cowboys were invited to participate as contestants in the RodeoHouston BP Super Series Bull Riding competition. Ty Wallace, Clayton Foltyn, Cole Echols, Tanner Bothwell, Chandler Bownds, Elliot Jacoby, Neil Holmes, Aaron Pass, Reid Barker, Corey Maier, Ardie Maier, Sage Kimzey, Brennon Eldred, Tate Stratton, Joe Frost, Cody Teel, Wesley Silcox, and Steve Woolsey all packed their bags and headed to H-Town for at least three days in hopes that their three rounds would get them to the semifinal round and eventually see their name on the bracket for the ten man Championship Round which is comprised of 8 semifinal round qualifiers and two qualifiers from the Wild Card round. Following the Championship Round is the Final Four Shoot Out Round where the top 4 in each event compete again for additional prizes and monies. The 2014 Super Series bull riding winner was Tyler Smith, Fruita, Colorado who went home with $56,200 in earnings. 

The format of the BP Superseries is as complicated as traveling to Huron, South Dakota for the first CBR tour stop! So hold on to your spinach artichoke Belgian waffle on a stick and try to follow the action thus far.

Super Series I:  Ty Wallace and Clayton Foltyn with Cody Campbell winning the SS I on $7,200.00 and 256 aggregate score.    

Super Series II: Cole Echols, Tanner Bothwell, Chandler Bownds, Elliott Jacoby, Neil Holmes with Casey Huckabee winning SS II on $5,350 and 163 aggregate score. Bothwell was 2nd, and Jacoby 3rd.

Super Series III: Aaron Pass, Reid Barker, Corey Maier, Ardie Maier, with Aaron Pass winning SS III on $5,000 and 87 aggregate score.

Super Series IV: Sage Kimzey, Brennon Eldred, Tate Stratton with Sage Kimzey winning the SS IV on $8,700 in money earned and a 250 aggregate score.

Super Series V: Cody Teel, Joe Frost, Wesley Silcox, Steve Woolsey with Silcox winning the SS V title, based on money earned with $5,800 earned and 178 aggregate. Teel was second with $5,500 and 253 aggregate. Frost was 3rd with $5,300, 250 aggregate.

Semi Final I: (Wed. March 18) With the entire Semifinal first round being powered by Lyndal Hurst’s Bucking Bulls, Cody Teel placed third on Spotted Warfare and Wes Silcox was 4th (bull unknown).  They both advance to the Championship Round on Saturday, March 21 at 3:45 pm.

A Wild Card round is held on Friday, March 20th and thus far former CBR World Champion Cole Echols has advanced with additional riders being added after tonight’s Semifinal Round.

Semi Final II is tonight at 6:45 with Sage Kimzey, Aaron Pass, Joe Frost, Tanner Bothwell, and Elliott Jacoby competing.

FOX Sports Southwest will provide live television coverage March 18-22 of the RodeoHouston BP Super Series Semifinals, Wild Card, and Championship rounds and the RodeoHouston Super Shootout, featuring champions from the top eight rodeos in North America. Additionally, a 15-minute nightly recap show will be televised on FOX Sports Southwest and posted on throughout the competition. The nightly updates will be televised at 10:00 p.m. CT or following the network’s live event programming.  

Famed rodeo announcers Bob Tallman and Boyd Polhamus will anchor FOX Sports Southwest’s coverage. Nightly recaps will be hosted by Smith with updates from Tallman and Polhamus.


March 19 - 7 p.m. - RodeoHouston BP Super Series Semifinal 2

March 20 - 7 p.m. - RodeoHouston BP Super Series Wild Card

March 21 - 4 p.m. - RodeoHouston BP Super Series Championship

March 22 - 4 p.m. - RodeoHouston Super Shootout: North America’s Champions


All times listed are Central. Nightly at 7 pm. March 21 and 22 the airing is at 4 pm.