Cooper Davis Enjoys 8 Seconds of Glory Winning the First CBR of 2015

Houma, Louisiana and the surrounding South Louisiana communities are steeped in Cajun tradition, culture, and cowboys, but it took a Texas bull rider with no current ranking on the CBR roster to win the first CBR bull riding title of the New Year on Saturday night at the Houma-Terrebonne Civic Center. 

2013 CBR Reserve World champion bull rider Cooper Davis of Jasper, Texas, battled cowboys from nine different states to win the third and final installment of the James Pierce 8 Seconds to Glory Horizon Series and the win, no doubt moved Davis 178.5 points closer to qualifying for The Mahindra Road to Cheyenne Tour scheduled to begin on January 16 in Jackson, Tennessee. 

Riding in front of a packed house, 43 contestants pulled their ropes in round one and 15 heard the whistle in their attempts to advance to the short round and win a share of the $10,000 payday.

The leaderboard would change four times before CBR rookie Luke Powell of Iva, South Carolina would win the first round with an 88.75 on Jeff Harris’s Big Rusty. 

Veteran CBR tour rider, Codrick Murphy, who led for most of the long round would be edged out and finish second in the long go with an 88.25 on Joy Hawk’s Canadian Cadillac, a longtime bull rider favorite on both CBR tours. 

Lining up behind the rookie and the veteran with an 88 was Jamon Turner of Pueblo, Colorado.  Cooper Davis, Newt Brasfield and Cody Rostockyj would all three finish the long round with a trio of 87’s.

With twelve qualified rides advancing on scores to the short round, the championship round began with Checotah, Oklahoma’s Mickey Andrews being the first rider to cover two. He would take the lead posting 86.75 on Hawk, Sanders and Lane’s Snake Farm. 

Keeton Moody would post the second score of the short go with an 86.5. The experienced tour riders would rise to the challenge with veteran Cody Rostockyj being the first to break the 90 point barrier with 90.5 points on Hawk’s Rotten Apple. 

With five riders left, Davis would take JC Knapp’s new team bull, JC 93 Pepper, for a 91.75 crowd thrilling spin which would seal the event win for not only Davis, but the ride would put JC Knapp on the top of the leader board for the bull team division win of the Cajun country competition.

JC Knapp would win the four team bull team competition with two rookie bulls and two veterans.  027 Kookabura would be crowned the high marked bull of the night while Knapp’s new bull 93 Pepper would provide the power for Davis’s 91.75 short go score. “I just can’t say enough great things about the 8 Seconds to Glory Series,” said Knapp. “We are just thrilled to be part of such a great event and tradition.”

Female rider Callie Verrett won the Mutton Busting buckle while Jace Trosclair took the top honors in Junior Steer Riding with 84 points.


Long Go

Luke Powell Big Rusty 88.75

Codrick Murphy Canadian Cadillac 88.25

Jamon Turner White Lightening 88

Cooper Davis Mayday 87

Newt Brasfield The Reaper 87

Cody Rostockyj Little Shyster 87


Short Round

Cooper Davis JC93 Pepper 91.75

Cody Rostockyj Rotten Apple 90.5

Mickey Andrews Snake Farm 86.75

Keeton Moody Too Juicy 86.5


Average Winners

Cooper Davis 178.75

Cody Rostockyj 177.5

Keeton Moody 172.5

Mickey Andrews 172

Luke Powell 88.75

Codrick Murphy 88.25